Three from MIAC awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships

Postgrad 2017-18

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The NCAA announced its 2018 spring sport Postgraduate Scholarship recipients this week and a trio of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) student-athletes were among those selected to receive the prestigious award, including Carleton's Donson Cook-Gallardo, Gustavus' Gabe Steinwand, and St. Catherine's Kylie Macziewski.

Cook-Gallardo (Sr. | Moscow, Idaho) finished his collegiate career at Carleton as one of the most decorated student-athletes in school history. A seven-time All-America honoree in cross country and track, Cook-Gallardo competed in three national championships as a senior, placing 15th overall at the Cross Country Championships before taking third place in the mile run at the 2018 Indoor Track and Field Championships and becoming a national runner-up in the 800-meter run at the 2018 Outdoor Championships. Cook-Gallardo holds program records in both the 1,500- and 800-meter runs and set the Panamanian national record for the indoor 3,000-meter run as well. In the classroom, he accumulated a 3.46 grade-point average as a biology major at Carleton, earning Google Cloud Academic All-District honors for his combined athletic and academic achievements.

Steinwand (Sr. | Moorhead, Minn.) was a four-year competitor on the Gustavus' men's tennis program, which took home both MIAC regular season and playoff titles in each of his four seasons as a Gustie. A two-time All-Conference honoree, Steinwand finished his career with a perfect 17-0 record against MIAC foes in singles play and a 13-1 mark against Conference doubles opponents. Steinwand also proved to be exceptional off the court, earning the MIAC Men's Tennis Elite 22 Award in both 2016 and 2017 for posting the highest grade-point average among athletes competing at the Conference Championships.

Macziewski (Sr. | Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson) is the first NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient ever from St. Catherine University. A three-time All-Conference and two-time All-Region selection in softball, Macziewski totaled 190 hits, 37 doubles, 21 home runs and 122 runs scored in 521 career at-bats – all of which represent program records. Off the field, Macziewski was just as impressive, earning a pair of Academic All-District honors and becoming the first Wildcat ever to earn the MIAC Softball Elite 22 Award when she did so as a sophomore in 2016. Macziewski maintained a 3.88 grade-point average at St. Kate's while majoring in exercise and sport science and minoring in psychology and chemistry. She was one of four MIAC student-athletes selected by the NCAA to attend its annual Career in Sports Forum in May and was one of nine from the MIAC nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year in 2018.

To qualify for the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, student-athletes must excel academically and athletically, be in their final year of eligibility and plan to pursue graduate study. Student-athletes must also maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be nominated by their institution's faculty athletics representative.  Created in 1964, NCAA postgraduate scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. The one-time non-renewable scholarships of $7,500 are awarded three times a year corresponding to each sport season (fall, winter and spring). Each sports season there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women for use in an accredited graduate program. All former student-athletes who earned an undergraduate degree from an NCAA member school are eligible to be nominated by that school for an NCAA graduate degree scholarship, regardless of when they received their undergraduate degree.

The MIAC has a total of 115 NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipients on record, with seven coming during the 2017-18 academic year.

| 2018 Men's Spring Sport Recipients | 2018 Women's Spring Sport Recipients | All-Time MIAC Recipients |