Macalester's Low, SJU's Dickmeyer headline 2018 MIAC Baseball Awards

2018 bsb awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) wrapped up its 2018 baseball season over the weekend, as the Bethel Royals claimed the program's first Conference Playoff title and punched its ticket to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history. On Tuesday, the MIAC recognized the top individual performers from an exciting 2018 season with the announcement of the annual MIAC Baseball awards.

Macalester junior catcher Graham Low was voted the 2018 Max Molock Player of the Year, while Saint John's right-hander Jake Dickmeyer was selected as the Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year. Saint Mary's freshman righty James Green was named Rookie of the Year, and Saint John's coach Jerry Haugen was honored by his peers with Jim Dimick Coach of the Year honors.

Low (Jr. | Piedmont, Calif.) was named Max Molock Player of the Year after leading all MIAC batters with a slugging percentage of .710 in 2018. The junior catcher also led the Conference with eight doubles in MIAC play and ranked second in home runs with seven overall and four against MIAC foes. He is the first player in program history to receive MIAC Player of the Year honors.

Dickmeyer (Jr. | Woodbury, Minn.) posted a 5-2 record with a 1.19 earned-run average and two complete games in eight Conference appearances for the regular season MIAC champion Johnnies. The junior right-hander struck out 18 and walked just three in 30.1 innings of work. He also picked up a pair of saves in relief duty this season. Dickmeyer is now the third SJU hurler to be named MIAC Pitcher of the Year, joining Andy Schneider (1998) and Justin Thompson (2014).

Green (Fr. | Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis) was exceptional in his debut season for the Cardinals, finishing the year with a 1.71 ERA and 28 strikeouts in 31.2 innings of work. The first-year righty was a workhorse on the mound, going the distance in three of his five MIAC starts to tie for the league-lead in complete games.

Haugen guided the Johnnies to a program-record 33 victories in 2018, highlighted by Saint John's first outright regular season MIAC championship since 1994. SJU finished the year with eight losses, five of which were decided by a single run. This is Haugen's second MIAC Coach of the Year honor, having previously won the award in 1994.

In addition to individual awards, MIAC baseball coaches also selected the All-Conference, All-Defensive and All-Sportsmanship Teams. Thirty players were honored with All-Conference status, including St. Thomas shortstop Jake Smith, who picked up his third consecutive All-MIAC nod. Eleven players - including SJU's Dickmeyer and 2017 MIAC Player of the Year, Wyatt Ulrich - earned All-Conference accolades for the second time in their collegiate careers. Of the 10 players selected to the 2018 All-Defensive Team, only two - Saint Mary's shortstop Joe Seegers and Augsburg outfielder Jordan DeCroock - had previously received the accolade. As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 12th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for baseball. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2018 MIAC Baseball Awards

Max Molock Player of the Year – Graham Low | Catcher | Macalester College (Jr. | Piedmont, Calif.)

Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year – Jake Dickmeyer | Pitcher | Saint John's University (Jr. | Woodbury, Minn.)

Rookie of the Year – James Green | Pitcher | Saint Mary's University (Fr. | East Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis)

Jim Dimick Coach of the Year – Jerry Haugen | Saint John's University (41st Season)

 2018 MIAC Baseball All-Conference Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Nolan Lepel Gustavus Sr. Plato, Minn. | Glencoe-Silver Lake
C Graham Low Macalester Jr. Piedmont, Calif.
1B Nolan Schoonveld Hamline Jr. Middleton, Wis.
1B Jeron Terres Saint John's Sr. Cold Spring, Minn. | Rocori
2B Mike Brookshaw Augsburg Jr. Prescott, Wis.
2B Carter Clemensen Gustavus Fr. Cologne, Minn. | Central
3B Ben Castagnetti Macalester Sr. Bethesda, Md. | Walt Whitman
SS Jake Smith St. Thomas Sr. Apple Valley, Minn.
OF Ryan Moriarty Gustavus Jr. Le Sueur, Minn. | Le Sueur-Henderson
OF Mitch Benson Hamline Sr. Cedar, Minn. | St. Francis
OF Wyatt Ulrich Saint John's So. Indus, Minn. | International Falls
OF Max Jackson Saint John's Jr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
DH John Leach Bethel Sr. Edina, Minn.
DH Collin Brantner Macalester Sr. Farmington, Conn. | Kingswood Oxford
DH Ryan Lust St. Thomas So. Blaine, Minn.
P Michael Bohlke Bethel Jr. Maple Grove, Minn. | Wayzata
P Jake Marsh Bethel So. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
P Carson Selin Bethel Sr. Brooklyn Park, Minn. | Park Center
P Austin Ver Steeg Concordia So. Glenwood, Minn. | Minnewaska Area
P Sam Archer Gustavus Jr. Zimmerman, Minn. | Princeton
P Casey Lewandoski Gustavus Sr. Fairbanks, Alaska | West Valley
P Joe Trier Macalester Sr. Madison, Wis. | Madison West
P Matthew Plisko Macalester So. Alpharetta, Ga. | Pace Academy
P Jake Dickmeyer Saint John's Jr. Woodbury, Minn.
P Danny Kuhn Saint John's Jr. Alexandria, Minn.
P Bennett Wiggins Saint John's Jr. St. Anthony, Minn.
P James Green Saint Mary's Fr. East Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis
P Jake Mathison St. Olaf Sr. Northfield, Minn.
P Henry DeCaster St. Thomas Jr. Shoreview, Minn. | Mounds View
P Ryan Zimmerman St. Thomas Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn.

 2018 MIAC Baseball All-Defensive Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Dominick Schleper Saint John's Sr. Shakopee, Minn.
1B Jeron Terres Saint John's Sr. Cold Spring, Minn. | Rocori
2B Mike Brookshaw Augsburg Jr. Prescott, Wis.
3B Joey Fredrickson Bethel So. Arden Hills, Minn. | Mounds View
SS Joe Seegers Saint Mary's Sr. Oconomowoc, Wis.
OF Jordan DeCroock Augsburg Sr. Farmington, Minn.
OF Sam Horner Bethel Jr. Woodbury, Minn. | New Life Academy
OF Wyatt Ulrich Saint John's So. Indus, Minn. | International Falls
SP James Green Saint Mary's Fr. East Bethel, Minn.
RP Zach Smith Hamline Sr. Burnsville, Minn.

 2018 MIAC Baseball All-Sportsmanship Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
P Jacob Kari Augsburg Sr. North Branch, Minn.
OF Michael Wesner Bethel Sr. River Falls, Wis.
P Tyler Rolland Carleton Sr. Burnsville, Minn. | Apple Valley
1B Turner Storm Concordia Sr. Thief River Falls, Minn. | Lincoln
3B Brock Peterson Gustavus Sr. Cannon Falls, Minn.
P Brandon Rushmeyer Hamline Sr. Champlin, Minn. | Champlin Park
OF Nick McMullen Macalester Sr. Payson, Ariz.
2B Brennan Swan Saint John's Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Totino-Grace
SS Joe Seegers Saint Mary's Sr. Oconomowoc, Wis.
P Jake Mathison St. Olaf Sr. Northfield, Minn.
C Dylan Valentyn St. Thomas Sr. Faribault | Bethlehem Academy