Scots' Low earns second-straight Player of the Year honor as MIAC announces 2019 Baseball Awards

2019 MIAC Baseball Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) wrapped up its 2019 baseball season over the weekend, as Saint John's claimed its fourth MIAC Playoff championship and punched its ticket to the NCAA Tournament. On Tuesday, the MIAC recognized the top individual performers from an exciting 2019 season with the announcement of the annual MIAC Baseball awards.

For the second year in a row, Macalester catcher Graham Low was voted the Max Molock Player of the Year, while Saint Mary's right-hander James Green was selected as the Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year. Concordia outfielder Andy Gravdahl was named Rookie of the Year, and Gustavus head coach Brad Baker was honored by his peers with Jim Dimick Coach of the Year honors.

Low (Sr. | Piedmont, Calif.) was named Max Molock Player of the Year for the second consecutive season after batting a league-best 0.477 against conference opponents with 31 hits in 65 MIAC at-bats. The Macalester catcher totaled 49 bases in 2019 - good for second-best in the conference - while hitting 10 doubles, one triple, and a pair of home runs. Low drove in 11 runs and crossed home plate 15 times on the year. He is just the third player since the turn of the century to win back-to-back MIAC Player of the Year honors, joining Gustavus outfielder Tony Konicek, who won in 2006 and 2007, and St. Olaf infielder Brian Sprout, who won three straight from 1999-2001. Low is the only player in Macalester baseball history to win the Max Molock Player of the Year award.

Green (So. | Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis) received Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year honors after going 6-0 with a 1.29 earned run average and limiting opponents to a 0.213 batting average in his 35 innings of conference action this season. The Cardinals ace started five games, going the distance in four of them. He struck out 33 MIAC batters and walked six while allowing just five runs on 33 hits during his sophomore campaign. Four of his five conference starts were decided by one run, with the fifth being a 2-0 victory. Green is Saint Mary's first Jim Augustin Pitcher of the Year recipient since Eric Williamson won the award in 2001.

Gravdahl (Fr. | West Fargo, N.D.) hit a team-high 0.348 with 24 hits and 13 runs scored in 69 at-bats during his debut season with the Cobbers. The first-year outfielder was the top run-scorer for Concordia in 2019 and boasted a 0.967 fielding percentage in right field. He is the first Concordia player to win the award since its creation in 2009.

Baker guided Gustavus to its first regular season MIAC title since 1980, as the Gusties finished the conference schedule with a 14-6 record and the top seed in the MIAC Playoffs. Baker also reached 100 wins for his five-year career in 2019, finishing the regular season with a 100-74 overall record to make him the third-winningest coach in program history. This is his first Jim Dimick Coach of the Year honor and the first for the Gusties since Mike Carroll in 2002.

In addition to individual awards, MIAC baseball coaches also selected the All-Conference, All-Defensive, and All-Sportsmanship Teams. Thirty players were honored with All-Conference status, with the trio of Hamline utility player Nolan Schoonveld, Saint John's pitcher Jake Dickmeyer, and St. Thomas pitcher Henry DeCaster becoming three-time All-MIAC selections on Tuesday. Six players repeated as All-Conference picks, including Concordia pitcher Austin Ver Steeg, Gustavus pitcher Sam Archer, Macalester catcher Graham Low, Saint John's pitcher Danny Kuhn and outfielder Max Jackson, and Saint Mary's pitcher James Green.

Low also received the second All-Defensive Team honor of his career, having been picked for the squad as a sophomore in 2017. Bethel third baseman Joey Fredrickson joined Saint John's outfielder Wyatt Ulrich as All-Defensive Team honorees for the second consecutive season.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 13th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for baseball. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2019 MIAC Baseball Awards

Max Molock Player of the Year – Graham Low | Catcher | Macalester College (Sr. | Piedmont, Calif.)

Mike Augustin Pitcher of the Year – James Green | Pitcher | Saint Mary's University (So. | East Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis)

Rookie of the Year – Andy Gravdahl | Outfielder | Concordia College (Fr. | West Fargo, N.D.)

Jim Dimick Coach of the Year – Brad Baker | Gustavus Adolphus College (Fifth Season)

 2019 MIAC Baseball All-Conference Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
P Sam Archer Gustavus Sr. Zimmerman, Minn. | Princeton
P Cole Christensen Concordia Sr. Spicer, Minn. | Willmar
P Henry DeCaster St. Thomas Sr. Shoreview, Minn. | Mounds View
P Jake Dickmeyer Saint John's Sr. Woodbury, Minn.
P James Green Saint Mary's So. East Bethel, Minn. | St. Francis
P Jamie Kaye Augsburg Sr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
P Danny Kuhn Saint John's Sr. Alexandria, Minn.
P Graham Laubscher St. Thomas So. Stillwater, Minn.
P Brady Leahy Bethel Jr. St. Croix Falls, Wis.
P Thomas Shogren Macalester Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | Minnehaha
P Adam Stockwell Gustavus Sr. Apple Valley, Minn. | Eastview
P Ty Syverson Concordia Jr. Moorhead, Minn.
P Austin Ver Steeg Concordia Jr. Glenwood, Minn. | Minnewaska Area
C Graham Low Macalester Sr. Piedmont, Calif.
C Justin Weinberg Saint Mary's Jr. Eagan, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
1B Luke Dahl St. Olaf Sr. Rosemount, Minn.
2B Dan Bollingberg St. Thomas Jr. Austin, Minn. | Pacelli
2B Tommy McDonald St. Olaf Jr. Northfield, Minn.
3B Dylan Blake St. Olaf Jr. Woodbury, Minn. | East Ridge
3B Michael Moreno Macalester Fy. Massapequa, N.Y.
SS Matthew Muller St. Olaf So. Minnetonka, Minn.
SS Cole Pengilly Gustavus So. Le Sueur, Minn. | Le Sueur-Henderson
OF Matt Berkner Gustavus Sr. Sleepy Eye, Minn.
OF Matt Piechowski Saint Mary's Jr. Hutchinson, Minn.
OF Soren Roe Macalester Fy. Golden Valley, Minn. | The Blake School
OF TJ Rogers St. Olaf So. Minnetonka, Minn.
OF Max Jackson Saint John's Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
DH Joey Stock Saint John's Jr. Cold Spring, Minn. | Saint John's Prep
UT Wilson Battle Carleton Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah | Skyline Senior
UT Nolan Schoonveld Hamline Sr. Middleton, Wis.

 2019 MIAC Baseball All-Defensive Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Graham Low Macalester Sr. Piedmont, Calif.
1B Donovan Tomony Augsburg Jr. Madison, Wis. | East
2B Grant Toivonen Concordia Sr. Alexandria, Minn. | Jefferson
3B Joey Fredrickson Bethel Jr. Arden Hills, Minn. | Mounds View
SS Marcus Krupke Bethel Fy. St. Michael, Minn. | St. Michael-Albertville
OF Devin Rodgers Hamline Jr. Glendora, Calif.
OF TJ Rogers St. Olaf So. Minnetonka, Minn.
OF Wyatt Ulrich Saint John's Jr. Indus, Minn. | International Falls
SP Evan Bayer Hamline Sr. Prescott, Wis.
RP Andrew Tri St. Thomas So. Hastings, Minn. | St. Thomas Academy

 2019 MIAC Baseball All-Sportsmanship Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
2B Mike Brookshaw Augsburg Sr. Prescott, Wis.
OF Sam Horner Bethel Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | New Life Academy
OF Matt Rubin Carleton Sr. Hawthorne, N.Y. | Westlake
SS Nate Hoeft Concordia Sr. Marshall, Minn.
UT Drew Weidner Gustavus Sr. Cannon Falls, Minn.
P Joe Pomije Hamline Sr. Prior Lake, Minn.
OF Jared Abelson Macalester Sr. Herndon, Va. | South Lakes
C Mike Reilly Saint John's Sr. La Canada, Calif. | St. Francis
C Dixon Irwin Saint Mary's Sr. Red Wing, Minn.
C Jake Ossell St. Olaf Sr. Eagan, Minn.
OF Jake Schmitz St. Thomas Jr. Wyoming, Minn. | Forest Lake