NFF Hampshire Honor Society recognizes MIAC student-athletes


IRVING, Tex. – The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Football Hall of Fame announced the members of the 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade-point average (GPA) or better throughout their college careers.

An all-time high 1,253 players from a record 303 schools – including 46 student-athletes from five Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) programs – qualified for membership in the society's 12th year.

To qualify, student-athletes must be either a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility, achieve a 3.2 cumulative GPA and meet all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Yale led all schools with 22 honorees in 2018, breaking the previous record of 18 members in a single year that was set by Brown and Saint John's in 2017 and Union in 2012. The University of St. Thomas led Division III with 19 this year, the most-ever by a DIII institution and second-most all-time in all divisions.

The MIAC honorees are listed below in alphabetical order by institution.

2018 MIAC NFF Hampshire Honors Society Members
Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
LB Josh Dalki Bethel Sr. Minnetonka, Minn.
LB Zach Eenhuis Bethel Sr. Ramsey, Minn. | Anoka
DL Trevor Hess Bethel Sr. Anoka, Minn.
TE Peter Knutson Bethel Sr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
QB Joey Lee Bethel Sr. Dawson, Minn. | Dawson-Boyd
WR Dane Birkeland Carleton Sr. Minneapolis, Minn. | Minnehaha Academy
LB Ian Doherty Carleton Sr. Lincoln, Mass. | Concord-Carlisle Regional
LB Merrick Ducharme Carleton Sr. Blooming Prairie, Minn. | Hayfield
OL Nick Fredrickson Carleton Sr. Winthrop Harbor, Ill. | St. Joseph
RB Tyler O'Keefe Carleton Sr. Woodville, Wis. | Spring Valley
LB Casey Decker Gustavus Sr. Mapleton, Minn. | Maple River
WR Scott Eischens Gustavus Sr. Victoria, Minn. | Chanhassen
DB Nathan Hajder Gustavus Sr. Rogers, Minn.
WR Cameron Hufendick Gustavus Sr. Minneapolis, Minn. | Edina
WR Hunter Johnson Gustavus Sr. Cannon Falls, Minn.
DL Kevin Krohn Gustavus Sr. Richfield, Minn.
DL Alexander McHugh Gustavus Sr. New Prague, Minn.
DL Christopher Nelson Gustavus Sr. New London, Minn. | New London-Spicer
LB Josh Dutcher Saint John's Sr. Chisago City, Minn. | Chisago Lakes
OL Mitch Engel Saint John's Sr. Maple Grove, Minn.
LB David Franta Saint John's Sr. Winnebago, Minn. | Blue Earth Area
DL Drew Glenzinski Saint John's Sr. Faribault, Minn. | Bethlehem Academy
DL Mat Hobby Saint John's Sr. Temecula, Calif. | Great Oak
LB Mitch Messman Saint John's Sr. Burtrum, Minn. | Holdingford
LB Mack Short Saint John's Sr. Inver Grove Heights, Minn. | Simley
OL Ryan Souza Saint John's Sr. Chanhassen, Minn.
OL Noah Voigt Saint John's Sr. St. Augusta, Minn. | St. Cloud Tech
LB Mark Amick St. Thomas Sr. Lake Zurich, Ill. | Carmel Catholic
LB Dylan Andrew St. Thomas Sr. Naperville, Ill. | Neuqua Valley
WR Tanner Bedard St. Thomas Sr. Wayzata, Minn.
LB Declan Brown St. Thomas Sr. Castle Pines, Colo. | Regis Jesuit
OL Gavin Dauwalter St. Thomas Sr. Carver, Minn. | Belle Plaine
DB Jack Dummer St. Thomas Sr. Edina, Minn.
DL Greg Ebacher St. Thomas Sr. Park Ridge, Ill. | Maine Township South
DL Johnny Heller St. Thomas Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn.
DB Andrew Inserra St. Thomas Sr. Mount Prospect, Ill. | Prospect
WR Luke Iverson St. Thomas Sr. Lakeville, Minn. | Lakeville South
DL Austin Jochum St. Thomas Sr. Foley, Minn.
OL Jaxon Lind St. Thomas Sr. Barnum, Minn.
OL Damon Longstreet St. Thomas Sr. Delano, Minn.
DB Austin Lorch St. Thomas Sr. Andover, Minn.
OL Luke Melander St. Thomas Sr. Victoria, Minn. | Holy Family
DL Jack Newell St. Thomas Sr. Chanhassen, Minn. | Minnetonka
LS Zack Pickard St. Thomas Sr. Eau Claire, Wis. | Regis
DB Isaac Seering St. Thomas Sr. Green Bay, Wis. | Notre Dame
K Bryan Steinsapir St. Thomas Sr. Santiago, Chile | The Grange School

| NFF Release | 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society Members |