Two from MIAC named to prestigious Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Erdmann (2) and Kilgore (31) were both selected to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, marking the second consecutive season two MIAC players have received the prestigious honor.
Erdmann (2) and Kilgore (31) were both selected to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, marking the second consecutive season two MIAC players have received the prestigious honor.

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Bethel defensive end Kyle Kilgore and Saint John's quarterback Jackson Erdmann have been selected to the 27th annual Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, an honor first established in 1992 to recognize a select group of college football players who have made a commitment to service and enriching the lives of others.

Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® on Thursday with help from an esteemed voting panel, including two-time national champion and former Good Works Team® member, Tim Tebow. From the 169 nominations reviewed this summer, only a select group of 22 college football players and an honorary head coach are recognized with the Good Works Team® designation.

This is the second year in a row that the MIAC has had two representatives on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. Bethel linebacker Josh Dalki and Saint John's wide receiver Will Gillach were both honored with selection last year. Kilgore is the Royals' sixth consecutive Good Works Team® honoree and 12th overall, while Erdmann is the Johnnies' second in a row and third all-time.

Erdmann (Jr. | Rosemount, Minn.) is a global business leadership major with a 3.33 grade-point average (GPA) at Saint John's. He has volunteered with SJU's Kids Fighting Hunger meal-packing event each of the last three years and helped the Johnnies raise money for Tackle Cancer and the "Up Till Dawn" campaign, collecting donations for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital each of the last two seasons. This past winter, Erdmann participated in an 18-day service trip to northern Thailand where he worked with various organizations that fight child sex trafficking. He also spent spring break in 2017 working at the Breaking Free House in the Twin Cities, which serves as a safe place for victims of sex trafficking and prostitution to recover from their experiences. The third-year quarterback has also served as a weekly volunteer at the Dream Center in St. Cloud, Minn., helping to provide care for men struggling with mental health issues, chemical dependencies, traumatic brain injuries, and learning and physical disabilities.

Kilgore (Sr. | Cottage Grove, Minn. | East Ridge) is a 2017 Dean's List honoree with a 3.24 GPA in Social Studies Education at Bethel. A volunteer locally for both the Dorothy Day Center and Feed My Starving Children, Kilgore has also showcased philanthropy abroad, working with Challenge New Orleans and Challenge Kansas City in addition to taking mission trips to Jamaica and Costa Rica where he helped serve children, the elderly and disabled in underprivileged and overpopulated areas of the countries. Kilgore has also participated in the Polar Plunge for Special Olympics and the Matthew Foundation Super Fest, an annual youth football clinic for children with mental and/or physical disabilities.

Nominees were submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools. In addition to Tebow, who will be participating for the third year in a row, the voting panel includes: president of the Eastern Territory at Allstate Insurance Company Dave Prendergast, former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team) and Wes Counts (Middle Tennessee State, 1999 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star) and Paul Myerberg (USA TODAY); 2018 AFCA President and Georgetown College head coach Bill Cronin; 2001 AFCA President and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor.

The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a special community service project ahead of the 2019 Allstate®Sugar Bowl®, where the entire team will also be recognized on the field during a halftime presentation.

The following players and honorary head coach have been named to the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

Clemson University Sean Pollard
Duke University Johnathan Lloyd
Kansas State University Dalton Risner
Syracuse University Kielan Whitner
University of California, Berkeley Patrick Laird
University of Georgia Rodrigo Blankenship
University of Nebraska Freedom Akinmoladun
University of Notre Dame Nic Weishar
University of Oklahoma Caleb Kelly
University of Texas Chase Moore
University of Wisconsin D'Cota Dixon
Bemidji State University Jared Henning
Bethel University (Minn.) Kyle Kilgore
Butler University Drew Bevelhimer
DePauw University Hunter Sego
Drake University Nathan Clayberg
Macalester College Ethan Levin
Morningside College Trent Solsma
North Carolina Central University Nick Leverett
North Dakota State University Easton Stick
Saint John's University (Minn.) Jackson Erdmann
Southwest Minnesota State University Jon Dicke
Washington University in St. Louis Larry Kindbom

Fans are encouraged to visit to vote for the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain now through Nov. 23, 2018. The Team Captain will be honored at this season's The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

Throughout the season, fans can follow along and join in on the conversation by using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.

2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Release |