Erdmann named West's Offensive Player of the Year as announces All-Region Teams

Erdmann was named West Region Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo: Libby Auger)
Erdmann was named West Region Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo: Libby Auger)

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Saint John's quarterback Jackson Erdmann has been named the Offensive Player of the Year for the West Region, announced on Tuesday. The Johnnie signal-caller and 2018 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Player of the Year headlines a group of 17 conference players to receive All-Region honors. SJU head coach Gary Fasching was named the West Region Coach of the Year.

The MIAC landed eight players on the First Team. Five of them were Johnnies, including Erdmann and 2018 MIAC Interior Lineman of the Year Nathan Brinker, as well as wide receiver Will Gillach, guard Dan Greenheck, and safety Max Jackson. St. Thomas had a pair of First Team honorees in running back Josh Parks and defensive tackle David Danhauer, while Gustavus tight end Brayton Finch garnered First Team recognition as well. Erdmann joins former Augsburg wide receiver Royce Winford (2008) as the only MIAC players ever to be named's West Region Offensive Player of the Year. 

Five players - Augsburg wide receiver Nick Heenie, St. Thomas center Matt Beck, Saint John's cornerback Sam Westby, and Bethel safety Dawson Brown and special teams ace Trent Substad received Second Team honors. Hamline linebacker Luke Trudell joined a trio of Royals - guard Tom Delich, center Nolan Richardson, and defensive end Kyle Kilgore - on the Third Team.

The All-Region teams, selected in balloting by West Region sports information directors and staff, were chosen from 255 nominations by Division III member schools. A total of 78 players were selected. Players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for All-America honors, which will be announced the evening of Dec. 14, in's pregame coverage for Stagg Bowl XLVI. All-West Region Team |

2018 All-West Region
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School Team  Previous Selections
QB *Jackson Erdmann Saint John's Jr. Rosemount, Minn. First Team --
RB Josh Parks St. Thomas Sr. Chisago Lakes, Minn. First Team --
WR Will Gillach Saint John's Sr. Lindstrom, Minn. | Chisago Lakes First Team --
TE Brayton Finch Gustavus Jr. Mount Morris, Ill. | Oregon First Team --
G Dan Greenheck Saint John's Jr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall First Team 2017 (1T)
DE Nathan Brinker Saint John's Sr. Avon, Minn. | Holdingford First Team 2016 (1T) | 2017 (2T)
DT David Danhauer St. Thomas Sr. Barrington, Ill. First Team --
S Max Jackson Saint John's Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall First Team 2017 (1T)
WR Nick Heenie Augsburg Sr. Victoria, Minn. | Waconia Second Team --
C Matt Beck St. Thomas Jr. Plymouth, Minn. Second Team 2017 (2T)
CB Sam Westby Saint John's Sr. Lake Elmo, Minn. | Hill-Murray Second Team --
S Dawson Brown Bethel Sr. Becker, Minn. Second Team 2017 (2T)
ST Trent Substad Bethel Sr. Lakeville, Minn. | South Second Team --
G Tom Delich Bethel Sr. Apple Valley, Minn. | East View Third Team --
C Nolan Richardson Bethel Sr. Bellevue, Wash. | Newport Third Team --
DE Kyle Kilgore Bethel Sr. Cottage Grove, Minn. | East Ridge Third Team 2017 (3T)
LB Luke Trudell Hamline Sr. Germantown, Wis. Third Team --

*West Region Offensive Player of the Year