Macalester's Kim Chandler receives national award

Macalester's Kim Chandler receives national award

Macalester director of athletics Kim Chandler was presented on Tuesday (Oct. 13) as one of eight national recipients of the Administrator of the Year Award by the National Association of Collegiate Women’s Athletic Administrators (NACWAA). Chander received the high honor at NACWAA’s annual convention in Denver, and was the honoree among all NCAA Division III colleges.

The Administrator of the Year Award, sponsored by Jostens, is bestowed to NACWAA members whom have made significant contributions as administrators of intercollegiate athletics.

Chandler was presented her award by Jackie Slaats, athletic director at Lake Forest College in Lake Forest, Ill.

Chander began her duties as Director of Athletics of Macalester College on July 14, 2008. Prior to arriving at Macalester, she headed the Beloit College Athletic Department for four years, overseeing 18 varsity programs, academic course offerings and intramurals. Before taking charge of the Beloit program, Chandler was the head women’s basketball coach for three years at Saginaw Valley State University in Saginaw, Michigan, where she also served the university as Senior Woman Administrator and Assistant Athletic Director of Business Affairs.

Following assistant basketball coaching stints at Bowling Green State University (Ohio) and Florida Southern College, she began her head coaching career at California State University-Northridge in 1991. Chandler graduated from Ohio Northern with a B.A. in History, Sports Medicine and Health, and received a Master of Education degree in Exercise Physiology and Wellness from Bowling Green State in 1989.

“NACWAA is honored to pay special recognition to each of these eight outstanding women for their hard work and dedication to the field of intercollegiate athletics,” said Jennifer Alley, Executive Director.

NACWAA honored Noreen Morris (Northwestern University, Division I Football Bowl Subdivision), Jacqueline Blackett (Columbia University-Division I Football Championship Subdivision), Kathy Klein (University of North Florida-Division I), Deborah Chin (University of New Haven-Division II), Kim Chandler (Macalester College-Division III), Norma Carr (Salt Lake Community College- NJCAA), Dr. Christine Hoyles (Pacific 10 Conference-Conference) and Dr. Grace Calhoun (Indiana University-Nell Jackson Award) as Administrator of the Year Award recipients.

Macalester Release