MIAC announces 2018 Men's Hockey Awards

Doerring led the MIAC with 22 points in Conference play this season.
Doerring led the MIAC with 22 points in Conference play this season.

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – After wrapping up another exciting and memorable season over the weekend, the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced its annual award winners for men's hockey on Monday. Concordia senior forward Zach Doerring was named the Conference Player of the Year, while Gustavus head coach Brett Petersen was honored by his peers with Coach of the Year recognition.

Doerring (Sr. | Chanhassen, Minn. | Blake) became the first Cobber since Caleb Suterman in 2013-14 to claim the league's top individual award. The senior forward led the MIAC with 22 points (10 goals, 12 assists) in Conference play this season and finished second among all MIAC competitors with 14 goals overall. Doerring also came up big when his team needed him most, logging a career-high four points in the final contest of the regular season to help the Cobbers defeat Augsburg and send Concordia to the MIAC Playoffs.

Petersen garnered Coach of the Year accolades for the third time in his career. The Gusties more than doubled their overall and Conference win totals from the 2016-17 campaign, earning nine MIAC regular season victories and a home game in the Conference Playoffs. Petersen's team made the most of its postseason opportunity, winning back-to-back win-or-go-home games to secure the program's first Playoff Championship appearance in four years.

In addition to individual awards, MIAC coaches also voted on All-Conference, Honorable Mention and All-Rookie Teams. Augsburg senior forward Nate Flynn was selected to his third consecutive All-Conference Team, while Concordia's Jon Grebosky, Hamline's Russ Jordan, St. Olaf's Drew Otto and Saint John's Sam Valerius each received All-MIAC nods for the second year in a row. Four members of last season's All-Rookie Team - Brett Gravelle (St. Thomas), Brady Heppner (Saint John's), Kyle Meeh (Saint Mary's) and Johnny Panvica (St. Thomas) - moved up to the All-Conference Team this year as well.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 12th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's hockey. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2018 MIAC Men's Hockey Awards

Player of the Year – Zach Doerring | F | Concordia (Sr. | Chanhassen, Minn. | Blake)

Coach of the Year – Brett Petersen | Gustavus (18th Season)

 2018 MIAC Men's Hockey All-Conference Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
F Luke Dietsch Augsburg Jr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
F Nate Flynn Augsburg Sr. Hastings, Minn.
F Chandler Madry Augsburg Jr. Bakersfield, Calif. | Fairbanks B.E.S.T.
F Zach Doerring Concordia Sr. Chanhassen, Minn. | Blake
F Jon Grebosky Concordia Sr. Oakdale, Pa. | West Allegheny
F Russ Jordan Hamline Sr. Aurora, Ill. | Wauhonsi Valley
F Brady Heppner Saint John's So. Crookston, Minn.
F Sam Valerius Saint John's Sr. Maple Grove, Minn.
F Kelvin Walz Saint Mary's Sr. Woodbury, Minn.
F Drew Otto St. Olaf Sr. Menomonie, Wis.
F Brett Gravelle St. Thomas So. Forest Lake, Minn.
F Johnny Panvica St. Thomas So. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
D Max Pernhem Augsburg Sr. Stockholm, Sweden | Dragonskolan
D Tanner Okeson Concordia So. Roseau, Minn.
D Sean Lang Saint John's Jr. Apple Valley, Minn.
D Kyle Meeh Saint Mary's So. Fenton, Mo.
D Tuukka Totro St. Olaf So. Helsinki, Finland | Makelanrinne
D Brian LeBlanc St. Thomas Sr. Hermantown, Minn.
G Chris Amsden Gustavus Jr. St. Peter, Minn.
G Andrew Lindgren Saint John's So. Minneapolis, Minn. | Eagan

 2018 MIAC Men's Hockey Honorable Mention Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
F Jackson Purvis Bethel Sr. Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada | Catholic Central
F Mario Bianchi Concordia Jr. Bloomington, Minn. | Holy Angels
F Mitch McPherson Hamline Jr. Peoria, Ill. | Richwoods
F Robb Stautz Saint John's Jr. Roseville, Minn.
F Cullen Willox St. Thomas Jr. Eagan, Minn.
D John O'Connor Augsburg So. Moorhead, Minn.
D Jesse Kessler Hamline Sr. Nashville, Tenn.
D Roshen Jaswal St. Olaf So. Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
G Nick Schmit Augsburg Jr. Fargo, N.D. | Fargo North
G Benjamin Myers St. Thomas Jr. Milwaukee, Wis. | University High

 2018 MIAC Men's Hockey All-Rookie Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
F Caleb Anderson Gustavus Fy. Sioux Falls, S.D. | Lincoln
F Kyle Wendorf Hamline Fy. Richfield, Minn. | Jefferson
F Ryan Kero Saint John's Fy. Hermantown, Minn.
D Will LeNeave Gustavus Fy. Medina, Minn. | Orono
D Travis Brown Saint John's Fy. Ostego, Minn. | Rogers
G Robbie Goor Gustavus Fy. Anoka, Minn.

 2018 MIAC Men's Hockey All-Sportsmanship Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
D Adam Pancoast Augsburg Sr. Thief River Falls, Minn.
F Justin Bonanno Bethel Sr. Colbert, Wash. | Marysville
F Shane Gingera Concordia Sr. Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada | College Beliveau
F Jake McCann Gustavus Sr. Shoreview, Minn. | Roseville
D Cody Bentzel Hamline Sr. Dauphin, Penn.
F Garrett Riebling Saint John's Jr. Chanhassen, Minn. | Holy Family
F Michael Cimba Saint Mary's Sr. Wilmette, Ill.
F Drew Otto St. Olaf Sr. Menomonie, Wis.
F Jack Christensen St. Thomas So. Ridgefield, Conn.