UST’s Bottum, Lowery lead 2017 MIAC Men’s Soccer Awards

Bottum scored four game-winning goals in Conference play this season. (Photo: Haley Staffon)
Bottum scored four game-winning goals in Conference play this season. (Photo: Haley Staffon)

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The good news just keeps coming for the University of St. Thomas men's soccer team, as the regular season and Playoff champions of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) have swept the Conference's individual postseason awards for a second straight season. The MIAC announced its Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference and Sportsmanship Teams on Thursday.

UST midfielder Shae Bottum (Sr. | West Lakeland, Minn. | Hill-Murray) was named the Conference Player of the Year after leading the MIAC with 18 points and 21 shots on goal in Conference play this season. Bottum was a true difference-maker for the Tommies, with four of his five Conference goals qualifying as game-winners. In addition to Player of the Year honors, Bottum also earned his second consecutive All-Conference nod.

Tommie head coach Jon Lowery (Sixth season) garnered his second straight MIAC Coach of the Year accolade joining John Leaney (Macalester, 1987-88) and Bob Carlson (Carleton, 2007-08) as the only back-to-back Coach of the Year recipients in MIAC history. Under Lowery's guidance, St. Thomas went 10-0 in Conference play, winning both the MIAC regular season and Playoff Championships for the second year in a row. The Tommies now enter the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Championships having won 16 consecutive games overall, 15 games in a row at home, and 14 straight against Conference foes.

In addition to individual awards, the Conference also honored Carleton College as this year's Sportsmanship Award recipient. The award honors the team with the lowest per-game card accumulation in Conference play, in a system where red cards are worth two points and yellow cards are worth one. The Knights received seven yellow cards in 10 Conference games this season.

This year's All-Conference team included 22 players – the top 20 field players and top two goalkeepers. Eleven of the 22 selections were seniors, seven were juniors and four were sophomores. Eight players earned All-Conference for the second time in their careers, including Saint John's Zack Boerjan, St. Thomas' Shae Bottum, Macalester's Jake Burke, Hamline's Oscar Campbell, Augsburg's Ebesa Hamid and Lionel Vang, and Gustavus' Matt Murakami and Arthur Parens.

St. Thomas led all teams with six All-Conference selections, followed by Macalester with three. Augsburg, Carleton, Gustavus, Hamline and Saint John's all had a pair of selections, while Concordia, Saint Mary's and St. Olaf each had one. Nineteen additional players were named to the Honorable Mention squad.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 12th-annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's soccer. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.


Player of the Year: Shae Bottum, St. Thomas (Sr. | M | West Lakeland, Minn. | Hill-Murray)
Coach of the Year: Jon Lowery, St. Thomas (Sixth season)

MIAC Men's Soccer Sportsmanship Award: Carleton College

 2017 MIAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
F Adam King Hamline So. Redondo Beach, Calif.
F Kyle Leemon St. Olaf Sr. Lander Valley, Wyo.
F Matt Murakami Gustavus Jr. Wayzata, Minn.
F Justin Oliver St. Thomas Sr. Oakdale, Minn.
F Tyler Oliver St. Thomas Sr. Oakdale, Minn.
F Arthur Parens Gustavus Jr. Wayzata, Minn.
F Charles Reit Saint Mary's So. Arcadia, Wis.
M Jamel Benhamida Macalester Jr. Faribault, Minn. | Shattuck-St. Mary's
M Zack Boerjan Saint John's Jr. Woodbury, Minn. | East Ridge
M Shae Bottum St. Thomas Sr. West Lakeland, Minn. | Hill-Murray
M Daniel Bruckbauer Saint John's Sr. Fargo, N.D. | Shanley
M Jake Burke Macalester Sr. Dublin, Ireland | Shattuck-St. Mary's
M Ebesa Hamid Augsburg Jr. Addis Ababa, Ethiopia | Addis International Academy
M Alex Schnobrich St. Thomas Sr. Hudson, Wis. | Shattuck-St. Mary's
M Lionel Vang Augsburg So. Little Canada, Minn. | Roseville
D Oscar Campbell Hamline Sr. Minneapolis, Minn. | South
D Max Kent Macalester So. Minneapolis, Minn. | St. Louis Park
D Austin Peterson Concordia Jr. Fargo, N.D. | Fargo Davies
D Mark Roth Carleton Jr. Evanston, Ill. | Evanston Township
D Kevin Van Lieshout St. Thomas Sr. Boulder, Colo.
GK Brandon Hilliard Carleton Sr. Anoka, Minn. | Totino-Grace
GK Aidan Hogan St. Thomas Jr. Kohler, Wis.

 2017 MIAC Men's Soccer Honorable Mention
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
F Danny Baumann Macalester Sr. Waterford, Wis. | Muskego
F Matt Gibbons Gustavus Fy. Minneapolis, Minn. | Minnehaha Academy
F Stefan Kinsinger Hamline Jr. Sioux Falls, S.D. | MOC-Floyd Valley
F Aronah Mukhtar Concordia So. Fargo, N.D. | Fargo Davies
M Daniel Barnes Gustavus Jr. Lund, Sweden | Katedralskolan
M Sean Butcher Saint Mary's Sr. Cave Creek, Ariz. | Cactus Shadows
M Justin Forslie Concordia Jr. Moorhead, Minn.
M Kevin Hintz Bethel Sr. Oconomowoc, Wis. | Kettle Moraine
M Jay Reardon Hamline Sr. Waukesha, Wis. | Mukwonago
M Robbie Sobczak Saint Mary's So. Cloquet, Minn.
M Andrew Younkins Carleton So. Beaverton, Ore. | Westview
D Chris Beiersdorf Saint Mary's Jr. Arlington Heights, Ill. | Saint Viator
D Davis Petros Gustavus Jr. Apple Valley, Minn.
D Trevor Stewart St. Olaf Sr. Madison, Wis. | West
GK Matt Bateman Gustavus Jr. Savage, Minn. | Prior Lake
GK Nate Levy Saint Mary's Sr. Byron, Minn.
GK Payton Spencer Saint John's So. Hudson, Wis.
GK Colton Wenig Macalester Jr. Bartlett, Ill. | South Elgin
GK Malachy Zamacona Hamline So. North St. Paul, Minn. | North

 2017 MIAC Men's Soccer Sportsmanship Team
Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
Jason Scheeler Augsburg Sr. Blaine, Minn.
Spencer Pearson Bethel Jr. Oregon, Wis.
Jack Lightbody Carleton Sr. Etna, N.H. | Hanover
Austin Promersberger Concordia Sr. Fargo, N.D. | Oak Grove
Alex Wilson Gustavus Sr. Ashland, Wis.
Jack Reddan Hamline So. Madison, Wis. | West
Max Kent Macalester So. Minneapolis, Minn. | St. Louis Park
Jerry Havens Saint John's Sr. Mead, Wash. | Mt. Spokane
Adam Estrada Saint Mary's Sr. Rockford, Ill. | Belvidere North
Robby Holmes St. Olaf Sr. Oak Park, Ill. | Oak Park and River Forest
Will Kidd St. Thomas Jr. St. Paul, Minn. | Como Park