Carleton's Roth named Player of the Year as MIAC announces Men's Soccer Awards

2018 MIAC Men's Soccer Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Carleton senior defender Mark Roth received top individual honors as the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced its annual awards for men's soccer on Friday. Roth was named MIAC Player of the Year while his coach, Bob Carlson, was honored, along with Gustavus head coach Tudor Flintham, as Co-Coaches of the Year.

Roth (Sr. | Evanston, Ill. | Evanston Township) was a difference-maker on both of ends of the field for the MIAC Playoff champion Knights. The senior connected on three game-winning goals in Conference play alone and added four more assists against league foes. He also aided a defensive unit that averaged a MIAC-low 0.45 goals allowed in overall games and went unbeaten in its final 15 contests en route to a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Carleton head coach Bob Carlson was honored by his peers for the fourth time in his career with MIAC Coach of the Year honors. Carlson - who also won the award in 2007, 2008, and 2012 - led the Knights to a 15-1-3 record and the program's third MIAC Playoff championship in 2018. Carleton will enter the opening round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday having gone unbeaten in its previous 15 matches.

Gustavus head coach Tudor Flintham also earned Coach of the Year honors for guiding the Gusties to their MIAC record 15th regular season conference championship and first since 2013. In his first season at the helm, Flintham led Gustavus to a 14-3-1 overall record and an 8-1-1 mark in Conference play, resulting in the program's 12th-ever NCAA Tournament berth.

In addition to individual awards, the Conference also honored Carleton College as this year's Sportsmanship Award recipient. The award honors the team with the lowest per-game card accumulation in Conference play, in a system where red cards are worth two points and yellow cards are worth one.

This year's All-Conference team included 22 players – the top 20 field players and top two goalkeepers. Twelve of the 22 selections were seniors, five were juniors, three were sophomores, and two were first-year players. Augsburg's Lionel Vang and Gustavus' Arthur Parens became three-time All-MIAC selections, while Roth joined Austin Peterson (Concordia), Adam King (Hamline), Jamel Benhamida (Macalester), Max Kent (Macalester), and Aidan Hogan (St. Thomas) as two-time All-Conference picks.

Macalester and St. Thomas each had four All-Conference selections, followed by Augsburg, Carleton, and Gustavus with three apiece. St. Olaf had two, while Concordia, Hamline, and Saint John's each had one. Seventeen additional players were named to the Honorable Mention squad.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 13th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's soccer. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.


Player of the Year: Mark Roth, Carleton (Sr. | Evanston, Ill. | Evanston Township)
Coach of the Year: Bob Carlson, Carleton (22nd Season) and Tudor Flintham, Gustavus (1st Season)

MIAC Men's Soccer Sportsmanship Award: Carleton

 2018 MIAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
D/M Walter Alvarado St. Thomas Sr. Minneapolis, Minn. | Loyola Chicago
D Jack Barry St. Thomas Fr. Naperville, Ill. | North
M Jamel Benhamida Macalester Sr. Faribault, Minn. | Shattuck-St. Mary's
M Marco da Cunha Carleton Fy. San Francisco, Calif. | University
F Will Douglas St. Olaf So. Hudson, Wis.
D Emmanuel Egbujor Augsburg Sr. Brooklyn Park, Minn. | Champlin Park
F Matthew Gibbons Gustavus So. Minneapolis, Minn. | Minnehaha
D Logan Harper Macalester Sr. Westwood, Mass. | St. Mark's
D Daniel Hedstrom Augsburg Jr. Hermantown, Minn.
M Scott Heinen Gustavus So. Aurora, Ill. | Waubonise Valley
GK Aidan Hogan St. Thomas Sr. Kohler, Wis.
D Max Kent Macalester Jr. Minneapolis, Minn. | St. Louis Park
M Will Kidd St. Thomas Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | Como Park
F Adam King Hamline Jr. Redondo Beach, Calif.
M Leighton Lommel Saint John's Jr. Waite Park, Minn. | St. Cloud Apollo
F Arthur Parens Gustavus Sr. Wayzata, Minn.
D Adam Pearson Carleton Sr. Rockford, Ill. | Rockford Lutheran
D Austin Peterson Concordia Sr. Fargo, N.D. | Fargo Davies
D Mark Roth Carleton Sr. Evanston, Ill. | Evanston Township
M/D Clayton Smith Macalester Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
F Lionel Vang Augsburg Jr. Little Canada, Minn. | Roseville
GK Ben Westermeyer St. Olaf Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | Roseville

 2018 MIAC Men's Soccer Honorable Mention
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
M David Almaer Gustavus Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
F Josh Balsiger Saint Mary's Jr. Camas, Wash. | Seton Catholic
M Daniel Barnes Gustavus Sr. Lund, Sweden | Katedralskolan
D Chris Beiersdorf Saint Mary's Sr. Arlington Heights, Ill. | Saint Viator
M Zack Boerjan Saint John's Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | East Ridge
D Luke Falk Augsburg Sr. Waukesha, Wis. | West
D Sam Holton St. Thomas So. Mequon, Wis. | Marquette
GK Dean Isaacson Hamline Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | St. Paul Academy
GK Garrett Kaelin Augsburg Jr. Stillwater, Minn. | Hill-Murray
F Stefan Kinsinger Hamline Sr. Sioux Falls, S.D. | MOC-Floyd Valley
M Luke Laurich Gustavus Jr. Batavia, Ill.
F Aronah Mukhtar Concordia Jr. Fargo, N.D. | Davies
D Spencer Pearson Bethel Sr. Oregon, Wis.
D Jack Reddan Hamline So. Madison, Wis. | West
F Brendan Reich Bethel Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo. | Rampart
GK Anders Severson Gustavus Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | Centennial
M Robbie Sobczak Saint Mary's Jr. Cloquet, Minn.

 2018 MIAC Men's Soccer Sportsmanship Team
Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
M Kouseng Yang Augsburg Sr. Hugo, Minn. | White Bear Lake
F Andrew Zwart Bethel Sr. Hanover, Mass.
M William Lanzillo Carleton Sr. Glen Ellyn, Ill. | Glenbard West
D/M Spencer Lancaster Concordia Sr. Fargo, N.D. | Davies
M Daniel Barnes Gustavus Sr. Lund, Sweden | Katedralskolan
M Trevor Lewellen Hamline Sr. Buffalo, Minn.
F Nick Moore Macalester Jr. Georgetown, Mass. | Governor's Academy
D Thomas Bell Saint John's Sr. Little Falls, Minn.
M Daniel Nolte Saint Mary's Sr. Owatonna, Minn.
B Danny Zalk St. Olaf Sr. Roseville, Minn.
M Andrew Stuempfig St. Thomas Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Breck