Gustavus crowned 2019 MIAC Men's Swimming & Diving Champions

For the first time in more than a decade, the Gusties are MIAC champs.
For the first time in more than a decade, the Gusties are MIAC champs.

MINNEAPOLIS – For the first time since the 2007-08 season, Gustavus Adolphus College has been crowned men's swimming and diving champions of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Led by MIAC Co-Swimmer of the Year Tannek Sonnek, the Gusties totaled 938.5 points to claim first place. St. Thomas placed second with 774.5 points, followed by St. Olaf in third with 435. Carleton jumped up to No. 4 in the team standings with 391 points, with Saint John's in fifth at 387. Macalester placed sixth with 215 points, Hamline logged 200 points for seventh, and Saint Mary's scored 105 to finish eighth.

Sonnek and St. Olaf junior John Loepfe were named Co-Swimmers of the Year at the conclusion of the meet. St. Olaf's Leif Jorgensen was named Diver of the Year. Sonnek finished out an incredible four-year run of dominance in the breaststroke events, claiming his fourth straight conference title in the 200-yard breaststroke on Sunday night, and doing so in record-breaking fashion. Loepfe picked up his third straight MIAC victory in the 100-yard butterfly and logged a victory in the 100-backstroke, in addition to placing second in the 200 fly. Jorgensen won the three-meter diving competition with a score of 465.20 in finals. He took second in the one-meter competition.


Following each of Sunday evening's races, a short awards ceremony was held to honor the top eight finishers. The top three finishers in each event received medals and automatically earn All-Conference honors. Saturday's All-Conference honorees are listed below.

In addition to individual athlete awards, the MIAC also recognized Jon Carlson (Gustavus) as the Swimming Coach of the Year and Jeremiah Jackson (Saint Mary's) as the Diving Coach of the Year.

In winning his fourth consecutive MIAC title in the 200-yard breaststroke, Gustavus senior Tanner Sonnek set a new meet record by cracking the two-minute mark and touching the wall in 1:59.82.

2019 MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships – Day 4, Session 8
Results | Team ScoresPhotos | Archived Video | Event Home Page | 

Place Team Score
1. Gustavus 938.5
2. St. Thomas 774.5
3. St. Olaf 435
4. Carleton 391
5. Saint John's 387
6. Macalester 215
7. Hamline 200
8. Saint Mary's 105
1,650-yard Freestyle
Place Name Year Institution Time
1. Adam Boerner So. St. Thomas 16:10.93
2. Zach Dawson Jr. Gustavus 16:18.45
3. Paul Reischmann Sr. Macalester 16:19.87
200-yard Backstroke
Place Name Year Institution Time
1. Abe Eyman Casey Sr. St. Olaf 1:51.15
2. John Gahnz Fr. St. Thomas 1:51.71
3. John Loepfe Jr. St. Olaf 1:52.41
100-yard Freestyle
Place Name Year Institution Time
1. Matt Allison Jr. Gustavus 45.00
2. Tom Negaard Sr. St. Thomas 46.03
3. Dutch Franko-Dynes Fr. Gustavus 46.08
200-yard Breaststroke
Place Name Year Institution Time
1. Tanner Sonnek Sr. Gustavus 1:59.82
R4, M, ST18
2. Logan Shafer Fr. St. Thomas 2:04.82
3. Noah Faldet Fr. St. Thomas 2:05.97
200-yard Butterfly
Place Name Year Institution Time
1. Nate Stone So. St. Thomas 1:52.94
2. Nolan Larson So. Gustavus 1:53.11
3. Ryan Sklar Jr. Gustavus 1:53.76
400-yard Freestyle Relay
Place Name Institution Time
1. Dutch Franko-Dynes
Andrew Peters
Nolan Larson
Matt Allison
Gustavus 3:02.92
2. Omar Omar
Max Larson
Tom Negaard
Garrett Riley
St. Thomas 3:07.92
3. Marcel Hones
Sjon Greseth
Abe Eyman Casey
John Loepfe
St. Olaf 3:08.62

Key: M - Meet Record; M* - MIAC Record; R - Repeat Champion; R3 - Three-time Champion, R4 - Four-time Champion; A - NCAA 'A' Qualifying Standard; B - NCAA 'B' Qualifying Standard; ST18 - 2018 NCAA Selection Time; $ - NCAA Diving Zone 11-Dive Qualifying Score.

2019 MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships Home Page |