Four teams, 14 individuals earn academic honors from ITA

Four teams, 14 individuals earn academic honors from ITA

St. Paul, Minn. -- Four men's tennis teams and 14 men's tennis student-athletes from the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) have earned academic honors from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

Carleton College, Saint John's University, St. Olaf College, and the University of St. Thomas were four of the 33 NCAA Division III men's tennis teams to be named a 2009 ITA All-Academic Team. The award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.0 scale). All eligible student-athletes whose names appear on the NCAA eligibility form and have competed in one or more varsity matches must average into the GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2008 and spring 2009).

The MIAC also had 14 men's tennis individuals named as 2009 ITA Scholar-Athletes. Those student-athletes were: Jordan Hughes, Colin Russell, and Ben Guzick of Carleton College, Kyle Helgemoe of Hamline University, Dutch Hansen, Brian Holmgren, Luke Odegaard, Matt Peckskamp, and Mark Steelman of Saint John's, David Narvaez and Ian Pray of St. Olaf College, and Matt Bergstrom, Phil Hanke, and Phil Paradise of St. Thomas. 

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must meet the following criteria: be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.0 scale) for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year).

2009 ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes