Four named to Academic All-District First Team

Four named to Academic All-District First Team

St. Paul, Minn. -- Four Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) men's cross country/track & field student-athletes have earned 2008-09 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District 5 College Division honors. The awards were selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The four MIAC men on the Academic All-District First Team include: University of St. Thomas senior Phil Bastron (Pleasant Prairie, Wis., Economics/International Business major, 3.93 GPA), Saint John's University senior Eric Buss (Coon Rapids, Minn., Mathematics and Physics major, 3.81 GPA), 
Bethel University junior Taylor Ferda (Whitefish, Mont., History and Social Studies Education major, 3.84 GPA), and Bethel University senior Carl Gladitsch (Bloomer, Wis., Biology major, 3.71 GPA).

The ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District team is part of the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America program, administered by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) a 2,000-member organization consisting of sports public relations professionals for colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. The Academic All-America program annually honors over 1600 student-athletes who have succeeded at the highest level on the playing field and in the classroom.

Top student-athletes from non-Division I programs in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ontario and Manitoba are eligible for inclusion on the district team. To be eligible, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his current institution and be nominated by his sports information director.

First-team Academic All-District members advance to the Academic All-America ballot, voted on by a committee of CoSIDA members. The ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America men's cross country/track & field team will be announced on Thursday, June 18.