USTFCCCA honors MIAC individuals and teams with academic awards

USTFCCCA honors MIAC individuals and teams with academic awards
New Orleans -- Six men's track & field teams and 18 student-athletes from the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) have been honored for their academic performance during the 2009 season by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). 

Six MIAC teams were honored by being named 2009 USTFCCCA Division III All-Academic Track and Field teams. To be nominated for the award, teams must carry a minimum 3.100 cumulative grade point average. MIAC teams making the list included: Carleton College (3.410 GPA), Macalester College (3.400 GPA), Concordia College (3.210 GPA), Saint John's University (3.200 GPA), St. Olaf College (3.150 GPA), and Gustavus Adolphus College (3.128 GPA).


A total of 51 Division III men’s track and field programs were recognized as 2009 USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Teams. Colorado College recorded the highest overall team GPA with a 3.490, followed by Haverford College, which carried a 3.466 team GPA. The MIAC and the University Athletic Association landed the highest number of member schools on the list, with six schools from each conference attaining All-Academic Track & Field recognition.

The USTFCCCA also announced the 2009 Men’s Division III All-Academic Track and Field Team for individuals. To qualify for the award, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 and have met the NCAA Division III Indoor or Outdoor automatic or provisional qualifying standard in their respective event.

Honorees from the MIAC included: Bethel University's Taylor Ferda (Jr., Whitefish, Mont.), Carl Gladitsch (Sr., Bloomer, Wis.), and Tyler Hinrichs (Sr., Clara City, Minn.), Concordia College's Paul Shol (Sr., Fergus Falls, Minn.), Gustavus Adolphus College's Cole Carlson (Jr., Mora, Minn.), Dan Foley (Sr., Minneapolis, Minn.), Tyler Geyen (Sr., Watertown, Minn.), and Matt Leeb (So., St. Peter, Minn.), Hamline University's Brandon Gleason (Sr., Mantorville, Minn.) and Andrew Marnach (Jr., Hokah, Minn.), Macalester College's Wade Ekstrom (Jr., La Crescent, Minn.), Saint John's University's Eric Buss (Sr., Coon Rapids, Minn.), Mitch Gesell (Sr., Alexandria, Minn.), Tom Hoffman (So., Mahtomedi, Minn.), Patrick Lowder (Jr., Chanhassen, Minn.), and Brayden Wagner (Sr., Englevale, N.D.), and St. Olaf's Cullen O'Neill (Sr., Northfield, Minn.) and John Schantzen (Jr., Stillwater, Minn.).

A total of 186 student-athletes representing 78 Division III colleges and universities made up the 2009 All-Academic team.
For conferences, the WIAC had the most student-athletes on the list with 23 followed by the UAA with 21, and the MIAC with 18.