Mueller, Knights lead the way in MIAC Men’s Cross Country Awards

Lucas Mueller became the third Knight in the last 16 seasons to win MIAC Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors. (Photo: Nathan Lodermeier)
Lucas Mueller became the third Knight in the last 16 seasons to win MIAC Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors. (Photo: Nathan Lodermeier)

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – After securing back-to-back Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) men's cross country championships for the first time since 1994-95, the Carleton Knights were once again well-represented in the 2018 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards, released on Thursday afternoon.

Lucas Mueller (So. | St. Paul, Minn. | Nova Classical Academy) continued his outstanding 2018 by earning MIAC Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors. The sophomore runner clocked in at 25:10.4 to become the second straight Knight to take individual honors at the MIAC Championships, and the third Carleton runner in the last 16 seasons to win Athlete of the Year accolades. A two-time MIAC Athlete of the Week this season, Mueller has quickly established himself as one of the premier student-athletes in the Conference, having placed third overall at last year's Cross Country Championships before earning the MIAC's Outstanding Indoor Track Athlete award at the 2018 Indoor Track and Field Championships this past February.

Mueller's head coach, Dave Ricks, is on quite a roll as well, having now claimed Coach of the Year honors four times in the last year. Ricks has been voted the Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year each of the last two seasons in addition to winning the award for both the Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field seasons earlier in 2018. His latest honor is well-deserved, as Ricks' team placed four runners in the top-six and five in the top-21 at the 2018 Cross Country Championships.

In addition to the top individual honors, the MIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference and All-Conference Honorable Mention squads were also recognized. The top 15 finishers in Saturday's MIAC Championship race received All-Conference honors, while finishers 16-25 received Honorable Mention. St. Olaf landed all five of its scoring runners on the All-Conference team, followed by Carleton and St. Thomas each with four. The 15 All-MIAC runners were made up of five seniors, three juniors, six sophomores, and one freshman.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 13th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Men's Cross Country. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2018 MIAC Men's Cross Country Awards
Athlete of the Year: Lucas Mueller (So. | St. Paul, Minn. | Nova Classical Academy)
Coach of the Year: Dave Ricks, Carleton (12th season)

 2018 MIAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team
 Place Time Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
1. 25:10.4 Lucas Mueller Carleton So. St. Paul, Minn. | Nova Classical Academy
2. 25:23.9 Tris Dodge Carleton Sr. Oakland, Calif. | The College Preparatory School
3. 25:33.8 Cameron Meikle Carleton Jr. Hamlinton, Mon.
4. 25:39.2 Karl Wachter St. Thomas Jr. Shakopee, Minn.
5. 25:49.6 William Anderson St. Olaf Sr. Deerfield, Ill.
6. 25:50.9 Matthew Wilkinson Carleton So. Minnetonka, Minn.
7. 25:51.1 Thomas Lerdall St. Olaf Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
8. 26:04.0 Ezekiel Lelinga Bethel So. New Brighton, Minn. | Mounds View
9. 26:07.8 Elliot Kadrofske St. Olaf Jr. Okemos, Mich.
10. 26:09.3 Andrew Plumb St. Olaf Sr. Verona, Wis. | Middleton
11. 26:11.2 Parker Rosenau St. Thomas Sr. West Fargo, N.D.
12. 26:15.3 Sam Primozich St. Olaf So. Boulder, Colo.
13. 26:15.4 Macallister Karrick St. Thomas Fr. Minnetonka, Minn.
14. 26:20.4 Carl Kozlowski St. Thomas So. Lake City, Minn.
15. 26:21.2 Andrew Stumbo Gustavus So. Boone, Iowa | Ogden

 2018 MIAC Men's Cross Country Honorable Mention
 Place Time Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
16. 26:25.4 Christopher Brenk St. Olaf Jr. Clarendon Hills, Ill. | Hinsdale Township
17. 26:27.5 Munir Isahak Concordia So. Fargo, N.D. | Fargo South
18. 26:27.5 Kevin Lamb Saint John's Sr. Avon, Minn. | Albany
19. 26:30.0 James Mathison Saint John's Sr. Stewartville, Minn.
20. 26:30.4 Jonah Herzog St. Olaf So. Champaign, Ill. | University Lab School
21. 26:32.8 Adam Nakasaka Carleton Fy. Chevy Chase, Md. | Bethesda-Chevy Chase
22. 26:33.2 Noah Webb Saint John's So. St. Cloud, Minn. | Tech
23. 26:38.0 Frank Gustafson Hamline So. Spicer, Minn. | New London-Spicer
24. 26:43.0 Biel Wiel St. Thomas Fr. St. Cloud, Minn. | Apollo
25. 26:47.6 Evan Hatton Bethel Sr. Stevens Point, Wis.

 2018 MIAC Men's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team
Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
Ryan Moore Augsburg Sr. St. Michael, Minn. | St. Michael-Albertville
Tim Huss Bethel Sr. Jordan, Minn.
Tris Dodge Carleton Sr. Oakland, Calif. | The College Preparatory School
Tom Froland Concordia Jr. Sacred Heart, Minn. | Renville County West
Alex Wischnack Gustavus Sr. Norwood, Minn. | Central
Kyle Mehrhof Hamline Sr. Coon Rapids, Minn.
Mac Doherty Macalester Sr. Madison, Wis. | East
John Miles Saint John's Sr. Grand Haven, Mich.
Jordan Malikowski Saint Mary's So. Royalton, Minn.
Jackson Simon St. Olaf Jr. Oswego, Ill.
Chase Graff St. Thomas Sr. Prairie Wind, Wis. | Arrowhead