Tommies' Barry, CSB's Hjort headline 2018 MIAC Softball Awards

sb awards 2018

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced the 2018 MIAC Softball Awards on Monday, including the All-Conference and honorable mention Teams, All-Sportsmanship Team, and Player, Pitcher, Rookie and Coach of the Year honors.

Saint Benedict's first-year pitcher Ally Hjort was named both Rookie and Pitcher of the Year for her role in CSB's record-setting season, while St. Thomas infielder Melissa Barry was honored with the Player of the Year award and her coach, John Tschida, was selected by his peers as the MIAC Coach of the Year. 

Hjort (Fy. | St. Paul, Minn. | Woodbury) appeared in 11 MIAC games in her debut season at CSB, collecting eight wins and a save while allowing a MIAC-low 0.75 earned-run average in Conference play. She was also a key element in Saint Ben's historic 2018 season, which included a program-record 36 wins and the team's first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 1994. Hjort is now the third consecutive first-year pitcher to earn both MIAC Rookie of the Year and Pitcher of the Year honors in the same season, joining St. Olaf's Julie Graf (2017) and St. Thomas' Kierstin Anderson-Glass (2016). 

Barry (Jr. | Apple Valley, Minn. | Eastview) led the MIAC in hits (34) and stolen bases (13) in 2018. She finished second in the Conference with a .466 batting average and has proven to be just as outstanding in the field, committing just two errors over the last two seasons at second base.

Tschida was voted MIAC Coach of the Year for the 12th time in his career after guiding the Tommies to their 15th Conference championship in his 18 seasons at St. Thomas. Tschida eclipsed 900 career victories in 2018 and has now led St. Thomas to the NCAA Tournament each of the last 15 seasons.

In addition to individual awards, the 2018 All-Conference Team, honorable mention selections and All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team were also announced on Monday. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2018 MIAC Softball Awards

Player of the Year – Melissa Barry | Second Base | St. Thomas (Jr. | Apple Valley, Minn. | Eastview)

Pitcher of the Year – Ally Hjort | Pitcher | Saint Benedict (Fy. | St. Paul, Minn. | Woodbury)

Rookie of the Year – Ally Hjort | Pitcher | Saint Benedict (Fy. | St. Paul, Minn. | Woodbury)

Coach of the Year – John Tschida | St. Thomas (18th Season)

 2018 MIAC Softball All-Conference Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Jenna Bromen St. Thomas Jr. Eagan, Minn.
1B Wendy Roberts Bethel Sr. Grantsburg, Wis.
1B Megan Toninato Saint Benedict Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | Hill-Murray
1B Chase Shortly St. Thomas Jr. Forest Lake, Minn.
2B Allie Fauth Bethel Fy. Hutchinson, Minn.
2B Brooke Ankerfelt Concordia So. Maple Lake, Minn.
2B Claire Woebke St. Catherine Sr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
2B Melissa Barry St. Thomas Jr. Apple Valley, Minn. | Eastview
3B Molly Steinberg Carleton Sr. Santa Monica, Calif. | Harvard Westlake
3B Kendra Swanson Saint Benedict So. Richmond, Minn. | Rocori
3B Jenna George St. Catherine Jr. Ellsworth, Wis.
3B Elise Barnes St. Thomas So. South St. Paul, Minn.
SS Anesia King Augsburg So. Cambridge, Minn. | Cambridge-Isanti
SS Maris Daleo Carleton Fy. Stillman Valley, Ill.
SS Emily Webb Gustavus Jr. Maple Lake, Minn.
SS Brittney Birkhauser Saint Mary's Sr. Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. | Assumption
SS Kylie Macziewski St. Catherine Sr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
SS Emily Carr St. Olaf Jr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
UT Morghan Bean Macalester Sr. Muscatine, Iowa
UT Kate Arneson St. Olaf Jr. Northfield, Minn.
DP Aubree Douglas Hamline Jr. San Jacinto, Calif.
OF Katie Parker Augsburg Sr. Lakeville, Minn. | Lakeville North
OF Katie Eppard Carleton Sr. Pleasanton, Calif. | Amador Valley
OF Julia Carpenter Macalester So. Stevensville, Mich. | Lakeshore
OF Emilie Antony Saint Benedict Jr. Forest Lake, Minn.
OF Kate Deming Saint Benedict Jr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
OF Kali Aldrich Saint Mary's Sr. Rochester, Minn. | Mayo
OF Dana Connelly St. Thomas Jr. Mendota Heights, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
P Samantha Anderson Augsburg Jr. Coon Rapids, Minn.
P Alex Molloy Hamline Fy. Salem, Ore. | Silverton
P Ally Hjort Saint Benedict Fy. St. Paul, Minn. | Woodbury
P Alex Smith Saint Benedict So. Stacy, Minn. | Chisago Lakes
P Krista Flugstad St. Catherine Sr. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson
P Julie Graf St. Olaf So. Sammamish, Wash. | Eastlake
P Sammy Hogan St. Thomas Sr. Palatine, Ill. | St. Viator

 2018 MIAC Softball Honorable Mention Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Natalie Maurice Carleton So. Eden Prairie, Minn.
C Sammie Galvez St. Catherine Jr. Gilbert, Ariz. | Williams Field
1B Allie Borawski Saint Mary's Sr. Stickney, Ill. | Trinity
1B Macy Vosbeek St. Olaf Jr. Minneapolis, Minn. | Edina
2B Abby Grismer St. Olaf Fy. Rapid City, S.D. | Stevens
SS Jamie Axelberg Bethel Fy. Monticello, Minn.
SS Sara Wennerstrand Saint Benedict Sr. Baxter, Minn. | Brainerd
OF Kim Kurtzweg Gustavus Sr. Arlington, Minn. | Sibley East
OF Anna Hinderaker St. Catherine Jr. Rosemount, Minn.
OF Alison Curry St. Olaf Jr. Redwood Falls, Minn. | Redwood Valley
P Aly Freeman Gustavus So. Omaha, Neb. | Marian
P Ashley Neuenfeldt Gustavus Fy. Bloomington, Minn. | Jefferson

 2018 MIAC Softball All-Sportsmanship Team
Pos. Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
C Taylor Mattice Augsburg Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | Centennial
1B Maddie Fauth Bethel Jr. Lakeville, Minn. | Lakeville South
P Sarah Ogle Carleton Jr. San Diego, Calif. | Francis Parker
P Abigail Haraldson Concordia Sr. Sidney, Mont.
SS Emily Webb Gustavus Jr. Maple Lake, Minn.
P Sabrina Warden Hamline Jr. West St. Paul, Minn. | St. Croix Lutheran
UT Katja McKiernan Macalester Sr. Los Angeles, Calif. | Marymount
P Cassie Meyer Saint Benedict Sr. Champlin, Minn. | Champlin Park
C Autumn Mortenson St. Catherine So. Cottage Grove, Minn. | Park
P McKayla Ahlrich Saint Mary's Fy. Sleepy Eye, Minn.
OF Clare Waddell St. Olaf So. Tempe, Ariz. | Tempe Prep Academy
P Hayley Dunning St. Thomas So. Littleton, Colo. | Chatfield