UST's Larson, GAC's Carroll lead Women's Hockey Awards

UST's Larson, GAC's Carroll lead Women's Hockey Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced the well-deserved recipients of its 2017 MIAC Women's Hockey Awards Thursday, and the top winners certainly aren't strangers to success in the conference.

St. Thomas star senior forward Kathryn Larson was named the MIAC Women's Hockey Player-of-the-Year for the second-straight season, and Gustavus Head Coach Mike Carroll was voted MIAC Women's Hockey Coach-of-the-Year by his peers for the seventh time in his standout career. The MIAC's All-Conference, Honorable Mention, All-Rookie and All-Sportsmanship teams were also announced.

Hamline University senior defender Jaci Reinke was named the winner of the 2016-17 MIAC Sheila Brown Award, which was announced separately on March 10

Larson's repeat Player-of-the-Year selection came again in recognition of her breathtaking playmaking skills, as she led St. Thomas to an 11-10-4 overall record and a 9-5-4 record (22 points) in the MIAC, good for a fourth-place finish and a chance to host a MIAC Playoff game, as the fourth-seeded Tommies will take on No. 5 Hamline Friday night. In addition, Larson headlined the MIAC All-Conference team – her third-straight selection after earning All-Rookie team honors in 2014.

The UST senior star finished in the top three in the conference each of the three major statistical categories this season, both overall and in conference play. In MIAC games, Larson led the league in points (25) and goals (13) and finished with the second-most assists (12). She had 30 points overall to lead the league as well, while her 15 overall assists ranked second and 15 goals ranked third. Her impact was also reflected in her plus-13 rating in overall games, and plus-12 mark in MIAC contests.

Carroll is certainly no stranger to MIAC hardware as well, as he was named the league's top coach for the seventh time after he guided the Gusties to the MIAC's regular-season title. The Gustavus coach also won the honor in 2001-02, three-straight times from 2003-04 to 2005-06, and again in 2010-11 and 2012-13. His latest MIAC title team finished the regular season with a 17-5-3 overall record and an outstanding 13-2-3 MIAC record (29 points).

The Gusties' MIAC title is the program's 14th overall and Carroll's club has now won 11 of the last 13 conference championships. Gustavus is the MIAC Playoffs' No. 1 seed and will enjoy home-ice advantage throughout, starting with a semifinal game against the No. 4/5 winner Saturday at 2 p.m in St. Peter, Minn. This season, Carroll coached three players to All-MIAC honors and another three that received Honorable Mention.

In addition to Larson, Gustavus forward Erica Power also earned her third-straight All-MIAC selection, and she'll look to make it a clean 4-for-4 sweep when she returns for her senior season in 2017-18. St. Olaf's Hannah Forliti, Saint Benedict's Elli Marvin and Augsburg's Callen Naasz were all named All-Conference for the second-straight season.

St. Thomas led the MIAC with four All-Conference selections in 2016-17, while Gustavus, Augsburg and Concordia had three players honored each. Hamline and St. Catherine each had two All-MIAC players, and Bethel, St. Olaf and Saint Benedict had one player honored apiece. The 2016-17 All-MIAC team included nine seniors, five juniors, five sophomores and one first-year player. 

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 11th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for women's hockey. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition. 

2016-17 MIAC Women's Hockey Awards

Player-of-the-Year - Kathryn Larson, St. Thomas (Sr., Forward, Shoreview, Minn. / Mounds View)
Coach-of-the-Year - Mike Carroll, Gustavus
Sheila Brown Award - Jaci Reinke, Hamline (Sr., Defender, Waconia, Minn.)

2016-17 MIAC Women's Hockey All-Conference Team

Name Team Year    Position Hometown/High School
Allie Borgstrom St. Thomas  Jr.  Defender Lindstrom, Minn. / Chisago Lakes
Demi Cooper St. Thomas So.  Defender Mendota Heights, Minn. / Henry Sibley 
Amanda DiNella Gustavus So.  Goalie Oakbrook Terrace, Ill. / Willowbrook
Darby Dodds Hamline Jr.  Forward Byron, Minn. / Dodge County
Hannah Forliti St. Olaf Sr.  Defender Shoreview, Minn. / Cretin-Derham Hall   
Danielle Heitkamp Augsburg Sr.  Defender Bismarck, N.D. / Grand Rapids (Minn.) 
Kaitlyn Klein Gustavus Jr.  Forward Plymouth, Minn. / Wayzata
Andrea Klug Concordia Sr.  Goalie West Fargo, N.D.
Kathryn Larson St. Thomas Sr. Forward Shoreview, Minn. / Mounds View
Elli Marvin Saint Benedict    Sr.  Forward Shoreview, Minn. / Mounds View 
Callen Naasz Augsburg Sr. Forward Lakeville, Minn. / South
Jess Nelson Concordia Sr.  Forward Waukesha, Wis. 
Erica Power Gustavus Jr.  Forward    Lakeville, Minn. / Apple Valley
Ellen Rethwisch Concordia Sr.  Forward Plymouth, Minn. / Wayzata
Wendy Roberts Bethel Jr.  Forward Grantsburg, Wis. 
Leah Schwartzman St. Thomas So.  Forward Hopkins, Minn. / Breck 
Bre Simon Hamline Fy.  Forward Elk River, Minn. 
Jordan Solheim St. Catherine Sr.  Forward Theif River Falls, Minn. 
Tori Thompson St. Catherine So.  Defender Rochester, Minn. / John Marshall 
Valerie Whichello Augsburg So.  Defender Woodbury, Minn. / East Ridge

2016-17 MIAC Women's Hockey All-Rookie Team

Name Team Year    Position Hometown/High School
Amanda Flemming  Concordia  Fy.  Forward   Sartell, Minn.  
Annie Juergens Hamline Fy.  Goalie Lino Lakes, Minn. / Centennial
Sarah Moy  Bethel  Fy.   Forward Hugo, Minn. / White Bear Lake 
Natalie Ryan Saint Mary's  Fy.  Defender Village of Lakewood, Ill. / Chigago Young Americans
Bre Simon Hamline  Fy.  Forward Elk River, Minn.  
Anna Williams  St. Thomas  Fy.  Defender Hastings, Minn.    

2016-17 MIAC Women's Hockey All-Conference Honorable Mention

Name Team Year    Position Hometown/High School
Sarina Goos Bethel So.  Forward Roseau, Minn. 
Emily Gustafson Gustavus Sr.  Forward Esko, Minn. / Cloquet
Jamie Henderson Saint Mary's Jr.  Forward Madison, Wis. 
Laura Johnson Gustavus Jr.  Defender Chanhassen, Minn. 
Allie Lewis Gustavus Sr.  Forward Kearnery, Neb. / Shattuck-Saint Mary's 
Darby Lindgren Augsburg Sr.  Forward Lakeville, Minn. / Shattuck-St.Mary's
Kristen Pechacek St. Catherine Jr.  Goalie Park Falls, Wis. / Chequamegon
Chelsey Petrich Concordia Sr.  Defender Elk River, Minn. 
Jaci Reinke Hamline Sr.  Defender Waconia, Minn. 
Natalie Simons Bethel Jr. Defender    Hastings, Minn. 
Rebecca Sonnek Augsburg Jr.  Goalie Edina, Minn. 
Jane Vezina St. Olaf Jr. Forward  Stillwater, Minn.

2016-17 Women's Hockey All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team

Augsburg – Megan Johnson (So., Madison, Wis.)
Bethel – Karly Vohden (Sr., Fairbanks, Alaska)
Concordia – Jessie Kongelf (Sr., Minot, N.D.)
Gustavus – Diana Draayer (Jr., Deephaven, Minn.)
Hamline – Jessica Goldberg (Sr., Mendota Heights, Minn.)
Saint Benedict – Katie Cristan (Sr., Shoreview, Minn.)
St. Catherine – Cassie Thomas (Sr., Northfield, Minn.)
Saint Mary's – Taylor Pogreba (Sr., St. Paul, Minn.)
St. Olaf – Karma Knutson (Sr., Bloomington, Minn.)
St. Thomas – Hannah Bird (Sr., Hartland, Wis.)

MIAC Women's Hockey Home Page