UST duo headlines 2018 MIAC Women's Soccer Awards

2018 MIAC Women's Soccer Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – With the 2018 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) women's soccer season in the books, the Conference announced its annual end-of-season awards on Friday. For the second time in the last three seasons, St. Thomas forward Mallory DeBoom was voted by MIAC coaches as the league's Offensive Player of the Year, while Tommie teammate Tess Baier was named Defensive Player of the Year. Bethel midfielder Rachel Waterman was selected Rookie of the Year and UST head coach Sheila McGill was honored by her peers as Coach of the Year.

DeBoom (Sr. | Edina, Minn.) earned MIAC Offensive Player of the Year honors for the second time of her career after totaling 16 goals in 20 games for the MIAC champion Tommies. She is now the sixth multi-time Player of the Year award winner in recorded MIAC women's soccer history and the third to do it in non-consecutive seasons, having won in 2016 and 2018. DeBoom enters the NCAA Tournament this weekend with 110 career points - second-most in program history - and 44 goals in her four-year career. A true difference-maker on the field, the Tommies are 47-0-4 in games when DeBoom records a point. She is also the Tommies' first-ever four-time All-Conference honoree in women's soccer and just the 15th four-time All-Conference selection in Conference history.

Baier (Sr. | Mount Horeb, Wis.) became the third woman in MIAC history to receive Defensive Player of the Year honors and joined two-time recipient Tarynn Theilig as Tommies to have won the award. Baier, however, is the first non-goalkeeper to receive the award, which was created in 2015 to honor defensive standouts in the Conference. Baier has played a key role shutting down opposing attacks all season and become the leader of a defense that posted shutouts in 11 of 18 victories this year.

Waterman (Fy. | Burnsville, Minn.) is the fourth Rookie of the Year in MIAC women's soccer history and the first-ever from Bethel. The first-year center midfielder tallied seven goals and five assists in 16 games this season, with 10 of her 19 points coming in MIAC play. Waterman's play was a significant element in the Royals matching a program-record 13 wins on the year.

McGill received MIAC Coach of the Year honors for the second time in her career (2008, 2018) after guiding the Tommies to a 10-1 record in Conference play in addition to winning both the regular season and playoff titles for the first time in program history. UST broke a school record for victories with 18 and finished the year 10-0 at home while outscoring opponents 30-3 in the second half and overtime. St. Thomas is headed back to the NCAA Tournament for the third consecutive season and 12th time overall.

The MIAC also recognized All-Conference, Honorable Mention and All-Sportsmanship Teams. DeBoom headlined the group as a four-time honoree and was joined by three-time selections Ashley St. Aubin (Augsburg), Maggie Sipe (Bethel), and Brie Bourdage (St. Thomas). Back-to-back honorees include Annika Martensson (Carleton), Claire Bash (St. Olaf), and Kaylyn Billmeyer (St. Olaf).

The 22-player All-Conference team included ten seniors, six juniors, four sophomores, and two first-year players. St. Thomas led the Conference with four All-MIAC selections, followed by Bethel, St. Catherine, and St. Olaf with three each. Augsburg and Carleton each had a pair, while Concordia, Gustavus, Macalester, Saint Benedict, and Saint Mary's each had one. An additional 22 players were recognized as Honorable Mention.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 13th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for women's soccer. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.


Offensive Player of the Year: Mallory DeBoom, St. Thomas (Sr. | Edina, Minn.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Tess Baier, St. Thomas (Sr. | Mount Horeb, Wis.)
Rookie of the Year: Rachel Waterman, Bethel (Fy. | Burnsville, Minn.)
Coach of the Year: Sheila McGill, St. Thomas (12th Season)

 2018 MIAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Team
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
M Kalli Baarstad Concordia Jr. Fargo, N.D. | North
M Tess Baier St. Thomas Sr. Mount Horeb, Wis.
M Claire Bash St. Olaf Jr. Long Lake, Minn. | Orono
D Kaylyn Billmeyer St. Olaf Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
F Allie Bird St. Catherine Jr. Maple Grove, Minn.
M Brie Bourdage St. Thomas Sr. Lino Lakes, Minn. | Centennial
F Sofia Campbell St. Catherine Fy. St. Paul, Minn. | Nova Classical Academy
F Mallory DeBoom St. Thomas Sr. Edina, Minn.
M Kate Heimer St. Thomas So. Albertville, Minn. | Rogers
D Kaela Mali Carleton So. Bloomfield Hills, Mich. | Cranbrook-Kingswood
M Annika Martensson Carleton Sr. Wauwatosa, Wis. | Divine Savior Holy Angels
D Maura Michener Saint Mary's Sr. Winona, Minn. | Cotter
F Britney Monteon Bethel Sr. Blaine, Minn.
M/D Jada Olson Augsburg Jr. Duluth, Minn. | East
F Mackenzie Schoustra St. Olaf Jr. Burlingame, Calif.
M/F Maggie Sipe Bethel Sr. Prior Lake, Minn. | Eagan
M Emily Skogseth Gustavus Sr. Burnsville, Minn.
F/M Ashley St. Aubin Augsburg Jr. Burnsville, Minn.
D Mia Stripp Macalester Sr. Eugene, Ore. | South Eugene
F Megan Thompson Saint Benedict So. Inver Grove Heights, Minn. | Academy of Holy Angels
C/M Rachel Waterman Bethel Fy. Burnsville, Minn.
F Lauren Witte St. Catherine So. Lakeville, Minn. | North

 2018 MIAC Women's Soccer Honorable Mention
 Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
M Molly Adams Macalester Jr. Concord, Mass. | Concord Carlisle
D Alex Balfour St. Thomas Fy. St. Louis Park, Minn.
D Lexi Banda Saint Mary's Fy. El Paso, Tex.
F Gabriela Encarnacion Augsburg Jr. Bel Air, Md.
F Ciara Gregory Hamline Jr. Cottage Grove, Minn. | Park
F Elizabeth Han Macalester Jr. Seattle, Wash. | Nathan Hale
M Lauren Johnson Gustavus So. Woodbury, Minn. | East Ridge
GK Kendall Koenen Saint Benedict Jr. Maple Grove, Minn. | Wayzata
M/F Kaitlin Machovec St. Catherine Sr. Woodbury, Minn. | North St. Paul
M Chase Miller Gustavus Sr. Brooklyn Park, Minn. | Totino-Grace
D/M Rachel Nemer Concordia So. Fargo, N.D. | Davies
F Karlie Perkins Bethel Sr. Tinley Park, Ill. | Victor J. Andrew
D Hannah Sandin Concordia So. Zimmerman, Minn. | Princeton
D Aubrey Sewell St. Olaf Fy. Boulder, Colo. | Fairview
M Jensen Sevening Hamline Sr. Robins, Iowa | Linn-Mar
D Sydney Sherek Saint Benedict Jr. Eagan, Minn.
D Shelby Stalberger St. Thomas Sr. Decorah, Iowa
D Iryna Talkachova St. Catherine Sr. Minsk, Belarus | Shattuck-St. Mary's
D Anika Thomas-Toth Carleton Jr. Seattle, Wash. | Garfield
D Meghan Verkinderen Saint Benedict Jr. Eden Prairie, Minn.
D Abby Welsch Saint Benedict Jr. Savage, Minn. | Academy of Holy Angels
F Jessy Wiskofske Augsburg Sr. Wausau, Wis. | West

 2018 MIAC Women's Soccer Sportsmanship Team
Position Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
D Katelyn Johnston Augsburg Sr. Missoula, Mont. | Hellgate
F Karlie Perkins Bethel Sr. Tinley Park, Ill. | Victor J. Andrew
F/M Hailey Mair Carleton Sr. Lexington, Ky. | Lexington Catholic
M/F Morgan Hluchy Concordia Sr. Pierre, S.D. | Theodore F. Riggs
D Katrina Rinke Gustavus Sr. Waconia, Minn.
D Ali Eastman Hamline Jr. Arlington, Wash. | Lakewood
D Clara Webby Macalester Sr. San Francisco, Calif. | Urban School
M Brianna Griffin Saint Benedict Sr. Kasson, Minn. | Kasson-Mantorville
F Erin McElligott Saint Mary's Sr. New York, N.Y. | Bothell
D Amanda Carey St. Catherine Jr. Hudson, Wis.
D/M Sarah Guezmir St. Olaf Sr. Plymouth, Minn. | Wayzata
M Ellie Eskierka St. Thomas So. Circle Pines, Minn. | Centennial