Tommie women score three-peat, win MIAC title at S&D Championships

tommie wsd

MINNEAPOLIS – For the third time in as many seasons, the University of St. Thomas women's swimming and diving team has won the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) championship. The Tommie men also took first-place overall, marking UST's third straight sweep of the MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships.

The Tommie women racked up 867 points to win the Conference title at the University of Minnesota's Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center on Saturday night. UST's Katelyn Strauss was named MIAC Swimmer of the Year after collecting six victories over the weekend to finish her eligibility with a total of 15 individual or relay Conference meet wins for her career.

Strauss was one of two swimmers to repeat as Conference champion this weekend, joining teammate Nicole Herrli, who cruised to her third straight MIAC victory in the 200-yard breaststroke. Gustavus junior Maggie Webster logged a trio of first-place finishes at the Championships to help propel her program into second place with 657 points. St. Olaf – led by MIAC Diver of the Year Rose Peterson and a slew of talented underclassmen – took third with 492 points.


Following each of Saturday evening's races, a short awards ceremony was held to honor the top eight finishers. The top three finishers in each event received medals and automatically earn All-Conference honors. Saturday's All-Conference honorees are listed below.

In addition to individual athlete awards, the MIAC also honored St. Catherine's Justin Zook and Gustavus' Jon Carlson as Co-Women's Swimming Coaches of the Year, as well as Gabe Kortuem (Carleton/St. Olaf) as the MIAC Diving Coach of the Year.

Augsburg first-year Morgan Mangel set a new Auggie record in the women's 50-yard freestyle with a time of 25.35 in the prelims, breaking the previous mark of 25.39 set by Elizabeth Hilgendorf in 2014.

Concordia first-year Amy Warren broke her own school record in the 200-yard individual medley by racing to a 2:17.13, nearly a full second faster than her previous mark. On Day 2, Warren shattered the program record in the women's 400-yard individual medley, posting a 4:50.59 in prelims before surpassing that mark by nearly four seconds with a time of 4:46.96 in finals.

Gustavus junior Maggie Webster secured an NCAA 2017 selection time in the finals, but set a new program record in the prelims with a time of 23.13 in the women's 50-yard freestyle.

Hamline junior Taylor Martinek became the first Piper in two decades to win a race at the MIAC Championships, setting a new program record in the process with a time of 57.14 in the women's 100 backstroke. Martinek rewrote the Hamline record book on Saturday as well, breaking Kate Lundsten's 1981 mark in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 2:07.71 in prelims. She went on to top that time in the finals with a new record of 2:05.94, good for a second-place finish and her second All-Conference honor of the weekend.

Macalester sophomore Ana Thompson set a new program-best in the women's 100-yard backstroke in Friday's prelims, clocking in at 1:00.10.

St. Catherine sophomore McKenna Peterson broke the oldest record in program history on Thursday with a finals time of 5:15.31 in the 500-yard freestyle. The previous record of 5:17.51 was set by Peggy Kemp in 1981. Peterson missed the mark by one one-hundredth of a second in prelims.

St. Catherine's women's 800-yard freestyle relay team of first-years Charlotte Green and Sydney Grohman, sophomore McKenna Peterson and senior Mary Jane Voss bested the previous school mark by more than three seconds, clocking in at 7:56.18 in finals on Friday night.

St. Catherine first-year Molly McMahon broke a pair of school records to open the action on Saturday night, surpassing the previous St. Kate's marks for the 1,000 and 1,650-yard freestyle.

St. Olaf sophomore Caitlin Croasdell won the 1,650 with a school record time of 17:12.65 on Saturday, breaking the previous Ole record, which had stood since 1991.

St. Thomas junior Katelyn Strauss broke her own school record in the 500 freestyle by nearly two seconds, clocking in at 4:59.92 in finals.

Tommies senior Nicole Herrli best her own program mark in the women's 400-yard individual medley with a time of 4:31.66.

2018 MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships

Session 6 Results | Complete Results | Team ScoresPhotos | Archived Video | Event Home Page |


Women's Team Scores (FINAL)

1. St. Thomas – 867
2. Gustavus – 657
3. St. Olaf – 492
4. Carleton – 360.50
5. St. Catherine – 356
6. Saint Benedict – 342.50
7. Macalester – 209
8. Hamline – 167
9. Concordia – 117
10. Saint Mary's – 76
11. Augsburg – 69

Women's Awards

Women's Swimmer of the Year:
Katelyn Strauss, St. Thomas

Women's Diver of the Year:
Rose Peterson, St. Olaf

Swimming Coach of the Year:
Justin Zook, St. Catherine; Jon Carlson, Gustavus

Diving Coach of the Year: 
Gabe Korteum, Carleton/St. Olaf

2018 MIAC Women's All-Conference Individuals

1-meter Diving
1. Rose Peterson, St. Olaf, Sr., 377.95, %, B
2. Sophia Steinberg, Gustavus, Fy., 362.15, %, B
3. Amy Roach, Carleton, Sr., 353.65, %, B

1,650-yard Freestyle
1. Caitlin Croasdell, St. Olaf, So., 17:12.65, R, ST17
2. Kasey Ericson, St. Thomas, Fy., 17:35.51
3. Gretchen Behrens, St. Thomas, Fy., 17:45.53

200-yard Backstroke
1. Kirsten Nelson, St. Thomas, So., 2:04.22      
2. Taylor Martinek, Hamline, Jr., 2:05.94
3. Katie Rising, St. Catherine, Jr., 2:08.90

100-yard Freestyle
1. Maggie Webster, Gustavus, Jr., 51.59, B
2. Kate Smarjesse, St. Thomas, Jr., 52.39
3. Caroline Mather, Carleton, Jr., 52.49

200-yard Breaststroke
1. Nicole Herrli, St. Thomas, Sr., 2:24.63, R3, B   
2. Ashley Christensen, St. Thomas, So., 2:22.23, B
3. Franceska Hernandez-Nietling, St. Catherine, Fy., 2:23.48

200-yard Butterfly
1. Katelyn Strauss, St. Thomas, Jr., 2:05.77, R, B   
2. Helen Jensen, St. Olaf, So., 2:08.66
3. Kirsten Nelson, St. Thomas, So., 2:09.67

400-yard Freestyle Relay
1. St. Thomas, 3:28.74, ST17
    (Tiana Molitor, Katelyn Strauss, Alex Howard, Kate Smarjesse)
2. Gustavus, 3:29.68, B
    (Kennedy Holwerda, Alyssa Kohorst, Maggie Webster, Kate Reilly)   
3. St. Olaf, 3:34.45
    (Linnea Rizzo, Kelly Punyko, Helen Jensen, Marissa Wolff)

Key: M - Meet Record; M* - MIAC Record; R - Repeat Champion; R3 - Three-time Champion, R4 - Four-time Champion; A - NCAA 'A' Qualifying Standard; B - NCAA 'B' Qualifying Standard; ST17 - 2017 NCAA Selection Time; $ - NCAA Diving Zone 11-Dive Qualifying Score, % - NCAA Diving Zone 6-Dive Qualifying Score.

2018 MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships Home Page |