Carleton's Mosborg takes top honors in MIAC Women's Cross Country awards

Amanda Mosborg earned Athlete of the Year honors after finishing the 6K course at the 2019 MIAC Championship in 21:33.6.
Amanda Mosborg earned Athlete of the Year honors after finishing the 6K course at the 2019 MIAC Championship in 21:33.6.

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its annual award winners for women's cross country on Thursday. Carleton junior Amanda Mosborg received Athlete of the Year honors, while her coach, Donna Ricks, was recognized as MIAC Coach of the Year. The MIAC also announced its All-Conference, Honorable Mention, and All-MIAC Sportsmanship Teams.

Mosborg (Jr. | Bloomington, Minn. | Edina) earned MIAC Athlete of the Year honors after crossing the finish line in 21:33.6 for the second-fastest 6K time in MIAC Championship history behind Ruth Steinke's winning time of 21:28.4 in 2014. Mosborg is the sixth Knight to capture the individual conference title and the second in the last three years. She is also the fourth Carleton runner to win Athlete of the Year honors in women's cross country since 2011.

Ricks was recognized by her peers with MIAC Coach of the Year distinction for the third consecutive season and sixth time in the last seven years. The only double-digit recipient of the award in recorded MIAC women's cross country history, Ricks led the Knights to their third consecutive conference crown last Saturday. Carleton has now won eight of the last 11 MIAC team titles after posting the third-lowest winning team score in MIAC championship history and placing six runners among the top 10 finishers at last weekend's conference meet.

In addition to the top individual honors, the MIAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference and Honorable Mention squads were also recognized. The top 15 finishers in Saturday's MIAC Championship race received All-Conference honors, while finishers 16-25 received Honorable Mention. Carleton led the pack with six All-Conference finishers, followed by St. Thomas with four honorees, and St. Olaf with two. Concordia, Gustavus, and Hamline each had one. The 15-runner All-Conference Team was comprised of eight seniors, three juniors, two sophomores, and two first-year competitors. Three runners - Carleton's Amanda Mosborg and Emma Greenlee, as well as St. Olaf's Bryony Hawgood - received their third consecutive All-Conference nods, while Carleton's Marietta Geist and Helen Schuda joined Hamline's Helen Dolan, St. Olaf's Lisa Fisher, and St. Thomas' Olivia Moll as two-time All-MIAC honorees.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 14th annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for Women's Cross Country. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition.

2019 MIAC Women's Cross Country Awards
Athlete of the Year: Amanda Mosborg, Carleton (Jr. | Bloomington, Minn. | Edina)
Coach of the Year: Donna Ricks, Carleton (27th season) 

 2019 MIAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Team
 Place Time Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
1. 21:33.6 Amanda Mosborg Carleton Jr. Bloomington, Minn. | Edina
2. 21:56.9 Tierney Winter Gustavus Sr. Waterville, Minn. | Waterville-Elysian-Morristown
3. 22:00.7 Clara Mayfield Carleton Fy. Manhattan, Kan.
4. 22:03.7 Bryony Hawgood St. Olaf Sr. Harare, Zimbabwe | Arundel
5. 22:04.0 Helen Dolan Hamline Jr. Holliston, Mass.
6. 22:26.0 Marietta Geist Carleton Sr. Crookston, Minn.
7. 22:27.1 Emma Greenlee Carleton Jr. Aurora, Minn. | Mesabi East
8. 22:28.5 Sophia Maag Carleton Fy. Norman, Okla.
9. 22:29.6 Lisa Fisher St. Olaf Sr. St. Paul, Minn. | Henry Sibley
10. 22:32.2 Helen Schuda Carleton Sr. Seattle, Wash. | Roosevelt
11. 22:33.6 Olivia Moll St. Thomas So. Hammond, Wis. | St. Croix Central
12. 22:33.8 Sara Ness St. Thomas Sr. Johnston, Iowa
13. 22:36.5 Jenny Launder St. Thomas Sr. Verona, Wis. | Middleton
14. 22:38.7 Meritt Miller Concordia So. Baxter, Minn. | Brainerd
15. 22:42.3 Katie Breuckman St. Thomas Sr. Andover, Minn.

 2019 MIAC Women's Cross Country Honorable Mention
 Place Time Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
16. 22:46.0 Ellen Mickelson St. Olaf So. Coon Rapids, Minn. | Blaine
17. 22:47.1 Sara Miller St. Thomas Jr. Hudson, Wis.
18. 22:47.6 Kourtney Kulseth Gustavus Jr. New Richland, Minn. | Waseca
19. 22:55.1 Molly Clarke St. Thomas Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn. | Edina
20. 22:59.1 Alexandra Maddux Hamline So. Moorhead, Minn.
21. 22:59.9 Ruthie Boyd Carleton Sr. Breckenridge, Colo. | Summit
22. 23:11.4 Stephanie Balas St. Olaf Jr. Manitowish Waters, Wis. | Lakeland Union
23. 23:11.9 Tracy Renier Saint Benedict So. Plymouth, Minn. | Benilde-St. Margaret's
24. 23:11.9 Iliana Ramon Gustavus So. Fairmont, Minn.
25. 23:12.1 Carly Scheuerman St. Thomas Jr. St. Mary's Point | St. Croix Academy

 2019 MIAC Women's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team
Name Institution Class  Hometown | High School
Grace Hartman Augsburg So. Anoka, Minn.
Noelle Diekman Bethel Jr. Otsego, Minn. | Spectrum
Emma Greenlee Carleton Jr. Aurora, Minn. | Mesabi East
Miriah Forness Concordia Sr. Casselton, N.D. | Central Cass
Kourtney Kulseth Gustavus Jr. New Richland, Minn. | Waseca
Emily Danzl Hamline Fy. Wyoming, Minn. | Centennial
Anya Ptacek Macalester Sr. Cold Spring, N.Y. | Poughkeepsie
Thea Gutzmann Saint Benedict Jr. St. Paul, Minn. | Cretin-Derham Hall
Summer Schwintek St. Catherine So. Wyoming, Minn. | Forest Lake
Maddie Bollig Saint Mary's Sr. St. Croix Falls, Wis.
Meredith Moore St. Olaf Sr. Worthington, Minn.
Rose Brakob St. Thomas Sr. Monticello, Minn.